Domestic Violence

June 27, 2010

As Featured On EzineArticles

As Featured on ArticleCity.com

Domestic violence is one the most common forms of gender inequality.
Regardless of the fact that it has existed since the beginning of
societies, it is a savage act that remains committed in every facet
of life as we know it. The effects of domestic violence are tremendous.
Female victims are emotionally scarred, their trust for their partners
as they knew it permanently broken, leaving the union never to find
its initial strength ever again. Children growing up in households
where this happens are psychologically affected, they tend become
aggressive, develop apathy towards the male head of the house and
often struggle to fully contribute to family life afterwards. I
should know because I experienced it and am still dealing with some
of the issues. Domestic violence thus ruins families, creating
communities of social instability.

Environments in which the act is widely accepted typically exhibit
apparent traits of chauvinism, lack of empathy and a high decline of
moral values. It is not surprising then that people of such areas are
mostly irritable, short-tempered, emotionally retarded amongst other
negative characteristics. Domestic violence has classically been
portrayed to be present in middle and lower classes of economically
developed countries and in virtually all strata of societies across
the rest of the world.

Accordingly, it is not unusual to have believed (and often still do)
that ‘the rich don’t cry’, meaning that financially well off people
don’t suffer from the specific gender inequality. Thanks to the
socio-cultural institutionalization of show business across many
parts of the world, high profile incidents of domestic violence have
lately been and increasingly continue to be widely exposed by the
media.

What was once an affair behind closed doors, is now ruthlessly
exploited by the paparazzi for the seemingly unquenchable thirst of
the masses, eagerly anticipative of the next (celebrity) scandal.

While the above comic strip (clearly) does not intend to glamorize
domestic violence, the idea behind it is to exemplify the dilemma in
the opulent parts of society, everyday people may still deem such
menace to be unfathomable.

In the swanky ambiance of a boulevard in Beverly Hills, a group of
financially buoyant, middle-aged women having brunch, are presented
to a horrific occurrence of domestic violence to one of their best
friends. The looks on the faces of the victim’s girlfriends symbolizing the very disbelief so many of us still suffer from.

24 Responses to “Domestic Violence”


  1. I’m not sure that I agree 100% within your blog post, but I did find it intriguing.


  2. I’ve been here a few times and it appears like your articles get much more informative every time. Keep it up I appreciate reading them.


  3. I know this is truly boring and you are skipping to the next comment, but I just wanted to throw you a large thanks – you cleared up some things for me!

  4. Tiara Tatsch Says:

    maintain at it man, your nearly there , thanks for the read!


  5. basically have to state you establish several really good facts and probably will post a couple of suggestions to add in just after a day or two.


  6. Considerably I been around here for a while and I found what I needed, simply the items this place has touched are really amazing, everyone’s trying to either copy or follow the same thing again and again, and virtually of the time cause really hurled by this. I conceive this being the first office to really situation something away of the box will really assistant me and many others. I think trying this is actually worth. It will not be wastage of time coz in any lawsuit this will never harm our campaigns for good serps.


  7. Outstanding blog post, I look forward to reading much more.

  8. Kyung Yance Says:

    Outstanding blog post, I look forward to reading much more.


  9. Simply want to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post is just nice and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the gratifying work.

  10. Leah Mlenar Says:

    Nice post. The information presented here was the greatest I could discover all day long, and I have been searching hard on the Internet. I believe you ought to put this up on a large social bookmarking site, you will discover that it spreads like wildfire – Cheers – dave


  11. keep at it man, your nearly there , thanks for the read!


  12. Good day, A actually occupying document. Continue it up.


  13. I really liked your place and I will actually enounce that the lastly situation posted nearly this issue explained everything. And this place is really a booster. I will say that the starter of this spot was actually in motive of this information and hence was I, I did hunting for this topic, just bang you people posted nigh this. Thanks totally for posting this ribbon and actually making valuable contribution. It really will helper me and the berth starter as well!


  14. Excellent blog post, I look forward to reading more.


  15. Excellent blog post, I look forward to reading much more.


  16. This post has been extremely insightful and useful to increase my knowledge in this field. Thank you very much, I will certainly come back to visit often. Keep posting and expressing your knowledge and opinions strong!


  17. hopefully this comment doesn’t appear multiple times (it appears to freeze once i try to post my comment.. not certain if it’s really posting), but all I truly wanted to say was great post and thanks for sharing.


  18. I know this is truly boring and you are skipping to the next comment, but I just wanted to throw you a large thanks – you cleared up some things for me!

  19. Fr33llu Says:

    Hi, I’m using the free version of wordpress. If you visit wordpress.com, you can get all the answers you’re looking for about wordpress.

Leave a reply; spam gets deleted.

